Photography

Photo of the Day – Lapwing chick

Sunday, May 6 2012

This photo was taken by Mike/fliker @mikethereservewarden in Castelnau, London, England, GB

This Lapwing chick was found on an island on the main lake, during some essential maintenance work on the islands. It’s probably only a day or two old, and you can see the other egg from the nest. It still has its egg tooth, which is a calcareous point on the end of its bill, which it uses to break through the eggshell when it hatches. It will lose this after a few days.

As I landed on the island I heard calling, looked down and saw this. After taking these pictures I completed my work there, and was on my way within about 5 minutes. I checked after finishing my work and the adult was sat back on the egg and chick.

About Dena Rabadi

I enjoy talking about culture of women, men, worship, dance, food and every thing related to geography and nature.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Photo of the Day – Lapwing chick

  1. I love this!

    Posted by jmgoyder | May 6, 2012, 1:18 am
  2. Lovely pic!

    Posted by starscraper99 | May 6, 2012, 5:36 am

Leave a Reply

